Hopp til hovedteksten

RV G.O. Sars

"G.O. Sars"

"G.O. Sars" represents a new generation of marine research vessels. With its vibration- and noise-damped diesel generators and its propellers driven by direct current motors, "G.O. Sars" is an extremely quiet vessel under way. It emits 99 percent less noise under water than conventional research vessels.

read more

RV Dr. Fridtjof Nansen

"Dr. Fridtjof Nansen"

"Dr. Fridtjof Nansen" was built in 1993 and is the second marine research vessel with this name. The vessel is named after Fridtjof Nansen (1861-1930), famous for his crossing of the Greenland and the "Fram" expedition. Nansen was oceanographer and professor in zoology. He was also one of the founders of ICES (the International Council for the Exploration of the Sea). In 1922, he was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his humanitarian efforts during WW1.

read more

RV G.M. Dannevig

"G.M. Dannevig"

"G.M. Dannevig" was originally named "Kystfangst" and owned by "Fiskeriteknologisk Forskningsinstitutt" (Institute of Fisheriy Technology Research).

read more

RV "Håkon Mosby"

"Haakon Mosby"

"Håkon Mosby" is owned and managed by the Institute of Marine Research (IMR). It is used for both scientific programmes and education of students in marine biology, oceanography and geology.

read more

RV Johan Hjort

"Johan Hjort"

Johan Hjort" is named after the first IMR director and one of the founders of ICES (International Council for the Exploration of the Sea), Johan Hjort (1869 -1948).

read more

New Dr. Fridtjof Nansen

The Norwegian government decided in September of 2012 to fund construction of a new research vessel. The vessel will be ready in 2016, and will replace the now 20-year-old "R/V Dr. Fridtjof Nansen".

read more

New Polar Research Vessel "Kronprins Haakon"

The Norwegian Government decided in October 2012 to build a new polar research vessel. The Institute of Marine Research is in charge of the project and Rolls Royce Marine has designed the new vessel.

read more